Skip to content

Summer Pottery

August 22, 2012

On August 25-26, I will be joining my aunt at the Buggy Barn Quilt Show and Folk Art Sale, in Reardan, Wa. I will be selling functional pottery along side her folk art and antiques. Here are some of the items I have made this summer.

Image

My deer print line was inspired by prints found frequently in my garden. I told my children a miniature deer wandered across the pottery as it was drying, late one night in the studio.

Image

My birch bark line was inspired by the many birch and  aspen we have around us. The bark just begs to be touched, and I have tried to capture that quality in my pottery bowls, mugs, and other items.

Image

My cattail line was inspired by all the ditches and marshes full of cattails around us. After I bought a decorative iron cattail sculpture at the Seattle Flower and Garden Show, I was inspired to create some in clay.

Image

Here is a quick shot of my wares ready to be priced. The quilt show is August 25-26, at the Buggy Barn, just off of Highway 2 before Reardan. It is very amazing to see dozens of quilts hung on fences and barns around the farm. Come admire the workmanship, and then head up to the big barn and check out the art and antiques! www.buggybarnquilts.com

Hope to see you there!

Michelle

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

